Standard Bank Derek Cooper Africa Scholarship

Three full scholarships are available for applicants who are ordinarily resident in one of the following countries: Angola, Botswana, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia or Zimbabwe. Preference will be given to nationals of Angola, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa and South Sudan. You must also be applying to start any full-time, one-year taught master’s course within the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences, Social Sciences, or Humanities Divisions.

The scholarship covers course fees, college fees and a grant for living costs of at least £14,296. Awards are made for the full duration of your fee liability for the agreed course. The scholarship is funded by the Standard Bank of South Africa Limited and is named after its longstanding former chairman, Derek Cooper.

There is no separate application process for this scholarship: to be considered, submit your application for graduate study by the relevant January deadline (6 or 20 January 2017, depending on your course). Selection is expected to take place by the end of April 2017. Please see the Standard scholarship selection terms for more information about the application and selection process.

For details, see:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *